Nuggles and No Sleep

Miss A is the Princess of ‘Nuggles. As she gets older, some things change, but some things stay the same.

Miss A hasn’t had a successful sleep over, unless we count when a friend took both children over night when we had the fire. Even then, Miss A wasn’t happy about it but she dealt.

She’s gone to a handful of birthday parties, some with sleepovers attached, but Hubby and I inevitably get the 9:30 call-she wants to come home.

She even tried having a friend stay at our house, and about 9:30 Miss A told me-she was ready for her friend to leave. The kid just turns into a pumpkin around 9:30 and doesn’t have time for people other than mom or dad.

This past weekend, one of her friends had a birthday party and Miss A didn’t even bother packing a bag. “I’ll go to the party, but I’m coming home at bedtime.” Then about an hour into the party, I get a phone call: “Mom, can you bring a bag? I’m going to try staying over.”

I told Hubby I was going to pack a bag and run it across town to the party. Miss A is going to attempt a sleepover.

“Uh huh.” He replied. I dropped the bag and told the hosting mom, I’ll have my phone on me if things change. Miss A grabbed the bag and took off.

About 11pm I decided to turn in, no call. My baby girl decided to sleep over. Part of me was proud, a little part was sad, one more first as she develops into her own independent person.

I picked her up the next morning, we pulled away from her friend’s house and she tells me “Mom I didn’t sleep.”

“You mean you didn’t sleep well?”

“No I didn’t sleep. You see, if I didn’t sleep, I didn’t need to call you because it was never bedtime. Me and Birthday-Girl stayed up ALL NIGHT long so I wouldn’t need to call you. I’m going to bed early tonight.”

I smirked as I drove home. Maybe my baby girl isn’t quite ready for sleepovers, but she was definitely ready for some ‘nuggles. Some things may change, but some things stay the same.

Leave a comment